E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Possible cross threaded steering shaft bolt. N54 335i.

04-29-2024, 11:28 PM   #1
Kenneykickin
///Kenney
United_States
Rep
Drives: 09 335i / 06 330xi

Possible cross threaded steering shaft bolt. N54 335i.

Evening everyone. I am in a panic right now. I think I may have cross threaded the steering shaft E10 bolt.. it got really hard to turn about 7/8th the way flush.. it was smooth all the way up until than.

I am careful with bolts to prevent this, I hand threaded it a good way before just hitting with a ratchet.

I need some advice asap, I have no experience with taps or helicoils. I’ve never used either.

With it being 7/8 in obviously it’s not “correct” but would it work being how it is? If ever in an accident wouldn’t it just push inward if air bags went off and not outward with the steering wheel flying into my face?

Obviously I don’t NOT want to do that expecially with my ocd but wow man, I am at lost of words. I do not know what to do or how this even happened..
Attached Images

2006 330xi / sedan / black and saddle brown / sport, cold weather & premium / stock - mine! ( purchased 04/01/2014 )
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2024, 06:36 AM   #2
Efthreeoh
General
United_States
Rep
Drives: The E90 + Z4 Coupe & Z3 R'ster

I've never looked into the detail of the steering shaft, but to me it looks like you threaded the bolt in from the wrong side. Can you remove the bolt, check the threads and then thread the bolt into the steering shaft from the other side? It looks like the shoulder of the bolt (the non-threaded part just below the head) is interfering with the bolt hole.